UIW student-athletes get Lone Star honors

Several University of the Incarnate Word student-athletes have received special recognition for athletic and academic achievements following their first seasons of competing in the Lone Star Conference.

UIW men’s soccer team members Craig Bartlett, Michael Langford, Dustin Lemley Justin Odette and Dustin Lemley represented a third of the 12-member All-Academic soccer team, which recognizes both athletic and academic achievements.

Bartlett, a defender, is a graduate accounting student from Coppell, Texas. Langford, a defender, is a junior business management major from St. Louis. Lemley, a midfielder, is a senior communication arts major from Prosper, Texas. Odette, a midfielder, is a senior biology major from Tyler, Texas.

Men’s soccer Coach John Smith was named co-Coach of the Year while players Jesus Cortez, Callum Riley and James Nero were named to the all-LSC first team. Cortez is a junior midfielder from San Antonio. Riley, a junior forward from Lutterworth, England, received special recognition as Offensive Player of the Year and Nero, a freshman defender from Charlotte, N.C., was named Freshman of the Year. Odette was named to the second team.

Two football players — junior offensive lineman Charles Segura of San Antonio and sophomore running back Trent Rios of Spring Branch, Texas — made the All-Academic Team.

The All-Academic teams for soccer and football are selected by the league’s sports information directors. To be eligible, student-athletes must have played in at least 50 percent of a team’s contests, reached sophomore athletic and academic standing (true freshmen and redshirt freshmen are ineligible), completed at least one full academic year at the nominating institution, and have a minimum 3.30 cumulative grade point average based on the 4.0 system for his entire collegiate career.

Football players who made the all-LSC South Division team include Rios; junior fullback

Donald Geis of San Antonio; sophomore tight end Andrew Mocio of Waco, Texas; sophomore

offensive guard Ty Warnasch; and interior linebacker Dakota Mawyer of Spring Branch.
Volleyball All-Conference honors went to second-team member Stephanie Bonura, a sophomore outside hitter from Houston. Honorable mentions went to Spencer Ladd, a senior libero from San Antonio; Daniella Vidaurri, a junior middle blocker from San Antonio; and Beth Soukup, a freshman outside hitter from Helotes, Texas.

Women’s Soccer All-Conference Awards went to second-team members Keri Dawson, a senior

defender from Las Cruces, N.M.; Amber Guenther, a freshman defender/midfielder from San Antonio; Sarah Hernandez, a senior forward from San Antonio; and Tori Puentes, a junior goalkeeper from Las Cruces, N.M. Senior Emily Hernandez, a midfielder, received an honorable mention. Dawson, a senior majoring in athletic training, also made first-team All-Academic honors.

Leave a Reply