Men’s soccer team falls in playoff run


By Jane Clare Vosteen


The men’s soccer season came to an end Nov. 13 as the Cardinals fell to Fort Lewis 0-1 in the second round of the NCAA Division II Championship playoffs.

After blasting past Midwestern, the team traveled to Drango where the game was streamed live. Students gathered in the UIW Student Center to catch the action.

The Cards’ offense outplayed Fort Lewis in the first half, testing its defense and putting six shots on the record compared to Fort Lewis’s three, none of which were on goal.

Fort Lewis rallied in the second half, though, and continued to prevent the Cardinals from scoring, despite many opportunities.

In the 84th minute, Fort Lewis finally scored off a rebounded save by Incarnate Word senior goalkeeper Chris Fidler.

Fidler finished the season with an 11-3-3 record and 10 shutouts to his name. During the season, he was named a member of the All-Lone Star Conference First Team, Lone Star Conference All-Academic Team, and was Lone Star Conference Academic Player of the Year.

He was also named the 2011 Daktronics All-South Central Region Player of the Year, earning his place on the 2011 Daktronics All-South Central Region First Team along with teammates Callum Riley, Vincent Bailey and James Nero.

Riley, another senior, was an LSC Offensive Player of the year for the second time in a row. He led the Cardinals in points (20) and goals (four) and tied for second on the team in assists (four).

He was also All-LSC First Team with Nero, Bailey, Fidler, Edward Estrada, Carlos Picado, Abraham Campos and Chuy Cortes.

Senior Max Gunderson, an Incarnate Word staple, played every game this season and was featured on the All-LSC Second team.

The Cardinals won awards in the classroom as well. Senior Michael Langford was named to the 2011 CoSIDA District 6 Division II All-Academic Team and is eligible to become an Academic All-American with his 4.0 grade point average in business administration.

The Cards bid adieu to seniors Estrada, Fidler, Riley, Langford, Gunderson, Riley, Edgar Alvarez, Jesus Cortez, Alexander Deitz, Carlos Gonzalez, Jon Stephenson and Stefan Vivar.

Leave a Reply